Louis Scaglione, Music Director
Rosalind Erwin, Program Director

The PYAO Young Artists Solo Competition is a prestigious solo competition that was established in PYO Music Institute’s 2014-15 season under the direction of Maestra Rosalind Erwin. This competition provides an opportunity for young musicians in PYAO to gain valuable experience preparing, auditioning for, and executing the performance of a movement from a concerto or a challenging solo work within their instrument’s repertoire. The Young Artists Solo Competition allows for the PYO Music Institute to showcase the talent, hard work, and dedication of their students, alongside presenting an opportunity for PYAO members to gain experience working with a soloist.

Auditions are open to all members of the Philadelphia Young Artists Orchestra (PYAO). Applicants audition live at the PYO Music Institute’s Rittenhouse Square location, St. Patrick’s Hall (Philadelphia, PA), for a distinguished panel of judges in January. The winner is featured as the soloist in the PYAO Annual Festival Concert held each spring in the Perelman Theater of The Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts. Audition and performance date and times for the 2023-2024 season will be announced at the beginning of the season.

“I am thrilled to perform the first movement of Wieniawski’s Second Violin Concerto with the Philadelphia Young Artists Orchestra. This opportunity allows me to showcase my musicality and technical skill in one of the most profoundly exhilarating violin concertos, while collaborating with my amazingly talented peers under the baton of Maestra Rosalind Erwin. The prospect of creating a musical experience together in such a prestigious context represents an important milestone in my–and our–musical journey.”

– Noëlle Streuber-Eden, Winner of the Ninth Annual Young Artists Solo Competition

Press Coverage

2021-22 Young Artists Solo Competition
The Strad Concert Review

“In the solo role, concertmaster Kai Freeman delivered the first movement – from memory – with a presence beyond his 14 years… Between his impressively accurate intonation and adept phrasing, Freeman may be surprised at what the future holds.”

– Bruce Hodges, The Strad

Previous Winners

2014-15 Sabine Jung, Cello
Violoncello Concerto in D Minor – Edouard Lalo
1. Prelude lento – Allegro Maestoso

2015-16 Esther Kim, Violin
Concerto for Violin No. 4 in D Minor – Henri Vieuxtemps
1. Andante – Moderato

2016-17 Danny Bishop, Cello
Concerto No. 1 in A Minor – Camille Saint-Saëns
For Violoncello and Orchestra

2017-18 Lea Wang, Violin
Zigeunerweisen – Pablo de Sarasate

2018-19 Vibha Janakiraman, Violin
Violin Concerto No. 2 in D Minor – Henryk Wieniawski
1. Allegro con fuoco – Allegro Moderato

2019-20 Henry Zheng, Violin
Violin Concerto in E Minor – Felix Mendelssohn
1. Allegro molto appassionato

2020-21 Miro Raj, Violin
Violin Concerto No. 4 – Henri Vieuxtemps
1. Andante

2021-22 Kai Freeman, Violin
Violin Concerto in E Minor – Felix Mendelssohn
1. Allegro molto appassionato

2022-23 Noëlle Streuber-Eden, Violin
Violin Concerto No. 2 in D Minor – Henry Wieniawski
1. Allegro con fuoco – Allegro Moderato

Email Newsletter

Join our email mailing list to keep up to date on PYOMI