PYO Music Institute OVATION AWARD honors an outstanding music teacher who, while imparting musical knowledge, builds character, self-confidence, and capabilities that position students for success in every aspect of their lives. The OVATION AWARD highlights the significance of music education and applauds the positive impact of music teachers on the greater community.

The PYO Music Institute 11th Annual OVATION AWARD
For Inspiration and Outstanding Leadership in Music Education

The 11th Annual Ovation Award Recipient will be announced on Sunday, June 2, 2024 at Philadelphia Youth Orchestra’s 84th Annual Festival Concert.

Sponsored by
Jacobs Music Company, J.W. Pepper, and WRTI

Submit a Nomination

Who is Eligible?

Music teachers based in the U.S. who teach music in public or private schools (Kindergarten through College), private studio teachers, and community music program teachers are eligible.

Who can Nominate?

ANYONE, current student or former student of any age, can nominate a music teacher for the OVATION AWARD!

How to Nominate?

Nominators are asked to submit a brief application and statement of no more than 250 words, answering the question: “How Has Your Music Teacher Changed Your Life?”

Selection Process

Top Ten Finalists and one Grand Prize Winner will be selected by a Blue Ribbon Panel, consisting of representatives from regional universities, colleges, conservatories, and institutions.

Prizes & Awards

The Ovation Award Recipient will be announced and presented in June with an award tribute, cash prize, and other recognition from our sponsors. All finalists will each receive a recognition award from our sponsors. Additionally, the Winning Nominator will be recognized and awarded a $250 Visa gift card.


Nomination Application Deadline: Sunday, April 14, 2024
Finalist Notification: Friday, May 3, 2024
Recipient Announced: Sunday, June 2, 2024


Please contact the PYO Music Institute at

Ovation Award Rules 2024

View the 2023 Ovation Award Presentation here.


Noelle Casella Grand – New Hope, PA


Renee Cappetta – Cinnaminson, NJ
Charles DiGregorio – Bensalem, PA
Harley Givler – Bryn Mawr, PA
Noelle Casella Grand – New Hope, PA
Nicholas Handahl – Philadelphia, PA
Daniel Kim – Monmouth Junction, NJ
Susanna Loewy – Philadelphia, PA
Irina Rostomashvili – Philadelphia, PA
Susan Steen – Doylestown, PA
Andrew Thierauf – Philadelphia, PA

Submit a Nomination